Acquisition project | Urban Platter
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Acquisition project | Urban Platter

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About Urban Platter:

Note: I have chosen to only work on the D2C aspect of their offering and not the D2B.


The company is dedicated to providing exceptional culinary experiences to its customers, as reflected in its tagline: "Nothing brings people together like good food." They do this by providing exotic ingredients that are not found elsewhere like Shitake mushrooms or Gochujang that are of the highest quality. They also focus on meeting various dietary preferences such as vegan, gluten-free, lactose-free, and natural sweetener options. These ingredients are sourced from across the globe.

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While these ingredients can fall under the gourmet category, their mission is to make such ingredients affordable, accessible and widely available.

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While they used to sell products from other brands, Now they manufacture their own or rebrand other products.

Numbers:

Founding year: 2015 

Employees: 101-250 

Funding Stage: Series A:$3.43M (Nov 1, 2021) 

Customers served annually: 2,000,000+ 

Products in catalog: 1,500+


Industry:

Main category of products that Urban Platter sells are: Gourmet foods, Healthy, Exotic, Vegan, clean products.


Their best sellers (according to their Instagram are:

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Kimchi 

Maple syrup 

Vegan chicken bullion 

Alluninium free baking powder 

Miso paste 

Jaggery 

Pancake mix 

Oat milk 

Plant based ghee 

Vegan cheese


Not many brands offer all of these value propositions together. Some top competitors that offer similar value propositions are:

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​Exotic and Gourmet Ingredients: Natures Basket, Food Hall, Spencers Retail, Amazon Pantry. 

Healthy and Clean Labels: Yoga Bar, The Whole Truth, Soulful, Slurrp Farm, Raw Pressery, True Elements, Organic India, 24 Mantra Organic. 

Foods for specific diets (Gluten Free/Vegan/Keto): One Good, Naturally Yours, True Elements, Nutti Yogi, Epigamia, Vegan Bites.


Some brands they used to sell:

Figaro, Mason & Co, Sprig, Earth Loaf, All Things Chocolate, Lavazza, eighty20, Flat Tummies, La Rustichella and Kotgarh Fruit Bageecha.

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Customer Sentiment:

After scouring through multiple sites and reading through multiple reviews, the overall sentiment seems to be that users love the quality of the products. There are mixed signals about the pricing of the products. There is some negative sentiment about how they import their ingredients and should promote locally sourced ingredients. Most products are rated very highly.


Some screenshots:

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Brand Communication:

Instagram and Youtube seems to be a primary channel for communication. They focus on explaining to the users how to use their ingredients and how they can be creative with it.

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Current Reach:

imageimage​

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User Research:

Goal:


Macro level: Acquisition strategy.

Micro level goal 1: Understanding their demographics, personality, likes and dislikes, lifestyle

Micro level goal 2: Understanding their interaction with Urban Platter: Use cases, what makes them buy, how often do they buy?

Micro level goal 3: Understanding their food habits.


Questions:

Micro level goal 1: Understanding their demographics, personality, likes and dislikes, lifestyle

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Demographics: Name, Age, Sex, Occupation, City of residence, Gender identity, Relationship Status:


Lifestyle:

What social media do they primarily use?, What do your weekends look like? What do you do in your free time (Understanding passions/hobbies/Interests)

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Micro level goal 2: Understanding their food habits in general.

Dietary classification (Vegetarian/Vegan/Non-Vegeterian?), Eating habits (Do they cook for themselves, how healthy/unhealthy), What motivates them to eat healthy? (If they do), Do they cook for themselves? How often do you eat outside? How do you select the place to eat? What attracts you to a restaurant/cafe?:


Engagement with Urban Platter:

What makes them interested in Urban Platter products? (Understanding the pain point that Urban Platter is solving):


Micro level goal 3: Understanding their interaction with Urban Platter

What gets them interested in Urban Platter products? Where do they find similar products?

What Urban Platter products do you mostly use? Are there any challenges when looking for such products?: What makes them choose Urban Platter over other products? How often do they buy from Urban Platter or competitors?



User Interview Responses: (Click to Expand)

No.1

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Name: Shalakha

Age: 28

Sex:  Female

Occupation: Project manager consultant and cofounder - Cybertron. 

City of residence: Bangalore

Gender identity: Female

Relationship Status: Married and has no kids. 


Lifestyle: 

What social media do they primarily use?: Instagram mostly. LinkedIn for work. 

What do your weekends look like? (Understanding their lifestyle) : On Saturdays she plays badminton with colleagues and friends. Likes to cook at home and host friends for meals. 

What do you do in your free time (Understanding passions/hobbies/Interests): She likes to Paint, Dance, Going for shoots for small businesses as a model. 


Dietary Questions: 

Dietary classification (Vegeterian/Vegan/Non-Vegeterian?): Used to be veg. She started eating chicken recently as she was deficient and was advised to eat proteins. 

Eating habits (Do they cook for themselves, how healthy/unhealthy): Yes, try to make balanced meals. The correct proportion of protein, carbs and fatty acids. 

What motivates her to eat healthy?: Since work is mostly sitting, She tries to eat healthy in the week atleast. Weekend you end up eating a lot of carbs. People coming over, going out. On vacation, they dont bother about eating healthy. 


Originally from Goa: Didnt have any issues with eating healthy and working out in Goa. Used to go to the beach etc. In Bangalore, it’s not possible. With work it is difficult to have a routine since most days she is working till 2 AM. They had imbalances, and they got some checkups, they realised their health is deteriorating. 


Do they cook for themselves?: Yes

How often do you eat outside?: weekends mostly. Either lunch or dinner. 

How do you select the place to eat? What attracts you to a restaurant/cafe?: 


Engagement with Urban Platter: 

What makes them interested in Urban Platter products? (Understanding the pain point that urban platter is solving): 


  1. They have ingredients that others do not. 
  2. Cost effective. 
  3. Available on amazon so convenient to order and gets delivered fast. 
  4. Packaging is very well thought off. Can use the products as is. Eg. Olive oil. Pink salt. 
  5. Products are used for making exotic dishes like teriaki sauce. Thee ingredients were not available anywhere else. 
  6. Great quality. 


Where do they find similar products?: Figaro olive oil. Nature organics. Local organics. She tries to buy organic brands and ones that come in sustainable packaging. 

What Urban Platter products do you mostly use?: Olive oil, Salt. 

Are there any challenges when looking for such products?: No way she can give feedback directly.. 

What makes them chose Urban platter over other products? : - 

How often do they buy from Urban platter or competitors? : - 

Other Information: Her husband loves to cook as well. While she likes to cook everyday healthy foods, he experiments with different cuisines, drinks, coffee and tea. 





No.2 ​

Name: Tarini

Age: 32

Sex:  female

Occupation: Freelance editor. She was an editor for 10 years. Freelance for 1 year. 

City of residence : Delhi 

Gender identity : female

Relationship Status: Married. No kids. 

Education level: Masters in English Literature. 


Lifestyle: 

What social media do they primarily use?: Instagram primarily. Also uses Linkedin, Twitter, and Youtube. 

What do your weekends look like? (Understanding their lifestyle) : She loves to cook. Weekends friends are over. Makes elaborate meals. Try new restaurants. Spend time with fam. Watch movies. Go for a swim. Go for exercise. 

What do you do in your free time (Understanding passions/hobbies/Interests):  Read alot. Primarily fiction. Passionate about food so cooks and makes recipes and posts them. 


Dietary Questions: 

Dietary classification (Vegeterian/Vegan/Non-Vegeterian?): Non-vegeterian 

Eating habits (how healthy/unhealthy): Try to eat healthy. Try to eat at home a lot more than normal. Because eating healthy outside is still unhealthy. Always been health concious since her parents always made sure she ate right. 

Do they cook for themselves?: Help makes just lunch, they cook dinner. 

How often do you eat outside?: 

How do you select the place to eat? What attracts you to a restaurant/cafe?: When they go out, it is important that the place is different. Never eats Indian food out since it is tooo heavy or masaledaar. New cuisine, new cocktail bar. 

What does she do to ensure good health?: 

Goes to cult fit everyday, swim, meditate, eat well. 


Engagement with Urban Platter: 

How did you hear about Urban Platter?: 

What makes them interested in Urban Platter products? (Understanding the pain point that urban platter is solving): 

  1. Interested in cooking and she got ingredients from abroad. Imported products were expensive. But now she can get it from here itself. 
  2. Quality is much better: Example yeast. 
  3. Range of products is huge. 
  4. First place for ingredients she doesnt have is Urban Platter. 


Whatever their interest - where do they find similar products?: Doesnt like anything else. Other gourmet food brands are usually very expensive and everything is imported. 

What Urban Platter products do you mostly use?: Miso paste - for asian products. Kimchi or sauerkraut. 

Are there any challenges when looking for such products?: 

What makes them chose Urban platter over other products?: 

How often do they buy from Urban platter or competitors?: Once a month. 



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No.3

Demographics: 

Name: Laxmi Sauji 

Age: 27

Sex:  Female 

Occupation: Data Scientiest. Bakery as a passion project on weekends. 

City of residence : Bangalore

Gender identity : Female 

Relationship Status: Married

Education level: Masters of Statistics. 


Lifestyle: 

What social media do they primarily use?: Instagram, Linkedin. 

What do your weekends look like? (Understanding their lifestyle) : Working on the bakery. Going out to eateries with friends, family, husband. Pop ups like shuggling suitcase or PG Taxi (Sustainable brands) 

What do you do in your free time (Understanding passions/hobbies/Interests): Rarely - swimming and badminton. Cooking/Baking. Watches cookery shows. Used to read fiction books. 


Dietary Questions: 

Dietary classification (Vegeterian/Vegan/Non-Vegeterian?): Mostly vegetarian. Eats meat once or twice a month. 

Eating habits (how healthy/unhealthy): Eats mostly home cooked food. Very specific about the ingredients that she chooses. Eg- she doesn't use anything with palm oil. Makes even the oils at home. 

Do they cook for themselves?: 

How often do you eat outside?: 

How do you select the place to eat? What attracts you to a restaurant/cafe?: Must be healthy. Ambience must be airy and open. 

What got her into healthy eating?: Mom is a nutritionist. Bought up that way. 

Anything else that she does for her health?: Yoga thrice a week. 


Engagement with Urban Platter: 

What makes them interested in Urban Platter products? (Understanding the pain point that Urban Platter is solving): 

  1. Quality of baking supplies. She tried two almond flour and the one from Urban Platter was significantly better. 
  2. Premium packaging. 


Whatever their interest - where do they find similar products?: Sprig, Caliber chocolate. 

What Urban Platter products do you mostly use?: Almond flour, brown sugar, choco chips. 

Are there any challenges when looking for such products?: 

  1. With Urban platter: She finds the price to be on the higher side. Doesn’t buy anything other than baking supplies because they are expensive. 
  2. The products she needs are not available on quick commerce. 

What makes them chose Urban platter over other products?: 

How often do they buy from Urban platter or competitors?: Twice. About 1,500 per order. 





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No.4

Age: 26 

Sex:  Female 

Occupation: Lawyer and now planning to start a small business

City of residence : Bangalore

Gender identity : Female

Relationship Status: Single 

Education level: 


Lifestyle: 

What social media do they primarily use?: Instagram, Linkedin 

What do your weekends look like? (Understanding their lifestyle) : 80% at home, TV, call friends over, cook. 20% at clubs, restaurants. 

What do you do in your free time (Understanding passions/hobbies/Interests): Passionate about sustainability, reads non-fiction, plays ukulele. 


Dietary Questions: 

Dietary classification (Vegeterian/Vegan/Non-Vegeterian?): Non-Vegeterian. 

Eating habits (how healthy/unhealthy): Tries to eat as healthy as she can and mostly eats at home. 

Do they cook for themselves?: Yes

How often do you eat outside?: Minimal 

How do you select the place to eat? What attracts you to a restaurant/cafe?: 


Engagement with Urban Platter: 

What makes them interested in Urban Platter products? (Understanding the pain point that urban platter is solving): 

  1. Quality: Compared to other products, its much better. 
  2. Packaging - premium. 


Whatever their interest - where do they find similar products?: 

What Urban Platter products do you mostly use?: Glutenous rice flour. 

Are there any challenges when looking for such products?: Delivery time 

What makes them chose Urban platter over other products?: 

How often do they buy from Urban platter or competitors?: thrice a month (about 5-6K per order) 




No.5 ​

Age: 30

Sex:  Female

Occupation: Yoga Teacher

City of residence : Dharamkot 

Gender identity : Female 

Relationship Status: In a relationship

Education level: B.Com


Lifestyle: 

What social media do they primarily use?: Instagram

What do your weekends look like? (Understanding their lifestyle) : In nature, treks, music events, reading

What do you do in your free time (Understanding passions/hobbies/Interests):  Yoga, meditation, passionate about health, journalling. 


Dietary Questions: 

Dietary classification (Vegeterian/Vegan/Non-Vegeterian?): Vegan

Eating habits (how healthy/unhealthy): Eat whole foods plant-based, As healthy as possible. 

Do they cook for themselves?: Yes either she or her husband. 

How often do you eat outside?: Once a week. 

How do you select the place to eat? What attracts you to a restaurant/cafe?: How healthy it is, do they have wholefood plant based options, do they have vegan options? 


Engagement with Urban Platter: 

What makes them interested in Urban Platter products? (Understanding the pain point that urban platter is solving): Clean ingredients. Healthy products like moringa powder and goji berries are available. Can trust the quality. 

Whatever their interest - where do they find similar products?: Other vegan and organic places - do not remember the names. 

What Urban Platter products do you mostly use?: Date powder, goji berry, tahini paste. 

Are there any challenges when looking for such products?: She doesn’t know if it is really organic. I usually look to see how clean the ingredients are. 

What makes them chose Urban platter over other products?: Some products are only available on Urban Platter. Ingredients are clean and I can check it from the website itself. 

How often do they buy from Urban platter or competitors?: Twice a month. About 1K per order. 

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Strengths and Weaknesses of Urban Platter:

Strengths:

  1. Urban Platter offers a wide variety of products that cater to diverse user needs simultaneously, including exotic, clean, and diet-specific options.
  2. They are known for the quality of their products.
  3. There seems to exist high trust for their products.
  4. Large range of products 
  5. Potential for growth and expansion into niche markets. 
  6. Superior packaging and gourmet experience - looks premium and makes it very convenient for the users to use them.
  7. Reasonably priced as compared to other brands that import ingredients. 
  8. Available on other E-Commerce sites that ensure quick delivery.

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Weaknesses:

  1. Limited physical presence compared to larger competitors.
  2. Potential challenges in competing with specialized brands within each category.
  3. Marketing primarily focuses on one aspect only: i.e. how to use exotic ingredients in cooking. Visibility in other areas is missing and thus they might be missing out on other target audiences.
  4. Low focus on sustainability - this is something that users care about. 
  5. Products sold by Urban Platter are seen as a want rather than a need.

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​ICP Finalisation:

While User Interviews are a great way to learn about the users, they also have a small sample size which might not give us the entire picture. To really understand our users, as a proxy for actual data, I randomly sampled users on their Instagram and checked their profiles. Below are some screenshots.


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ICPs:

ICPs were classified based on their intent of purchase.


ICPs with the highest assumed TAMs were: Explorers, Healthy Eaters, Vegans, and Cooking Enthusiasts.

Other ICPs: Gourmet food enthusiasts and those with dietary restrictions or niche diets.

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ICP 1 Explorer Neha

​Demographics: Explorer Neha 

Age: 23-28 

Gender: Female and Male

Location: Tier 1/Tier 2 cities 

Salary: Middle Class and Upper middle class 

Apps: Instagram, Youtube. 

Marital Status: Single 

Occupation: Food/travel bloggers, Marketing professionals, Designers. 


Lifestyle and Interests: 


Personality: Dopamine Driven, Curious, loves meeting new people. 

Interests: Likes to learn new things, Travel, Explore new cuisines and attends music and art events. 

Lifestyle: Doesn’t go out of the way to eat healthy, likes to party, go to events.  

Social Media: Instagram 


Dietary Habits: 


Dietary Classification: Vegetarian and Non-Vegeterian 

Eating Habits: Likes to try different kinds of foods, and cook for themselves when there is an interesting recipe or dish they would like to try. 

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Engagement With Urban Platter: 


What do they buy?: Exotic Ingredients unavailable elsewhere 

Competitor Products: Gourmet supermarkets like Foodhall and other brands she finds on Amazon. 

What do they like/dislike: Like: Availability of exotic ingredients that are not available elsewhere, packaging that is convenient and premium looking. 

Frequency of Purchase: Twice a month (Cart value of 500 per order). 

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ICP 2 Health Freak Tanya

Demographics: 

Age: 26-50 

Gender: Female and Male 

Location: Tier 1 and Tier 2 cities 

Salary: Middle Class and Upper Middle Class 

Apps: Instagram, Youtube, Linkedin, Fitness and Mindfulness apps.  

Marital Status: Married or Unmarried. 

Occupation: Working in the health industry - eg. nutritionist, white collar jobs in startups and corporates, Entrepreneurs. 


Lifestyle and Interests: 


Personality: Socially responsible, Enjoys Wellness practices and fitness, values work life balance, ambitious, optimistic, continuous learners (Especially about health) 

Interests: Sustainability, Health and Wellness, Sports and Yoga, Organic and cruelty-free products and practices. 

Lifestyle: Follows a routine, eats mostly at home, practices sustainability, tries to influence their family and friends to eat healthy, invites friends over for lunch/dinners. 


Dietary Habits:

Dietary Classification: Vegan, Vegetarian, May eat meat sometimes, May have other food restrictions like eating gluten-free. 

Eating habits: Eats mostly at home, tries to find healthy alternatives to unhealthy foods, mostly eats whole foods, specific about the ingredients she uses, when she goes out, she makes sure she choses restaurants that are healthy, use good and organic ingredients. 

How did she start eating healthy?: Brought up eating healthy food, health setback got her to start eating healthy. 


Engagement with Urban Platter: 


What do they buy?: Healthy ingredients, and supplements like moringa powder.

What do they look for in products?: Organic, non-GMO, sustainable and cruelty-free.  

Competitor products: The Whole Truth, Cosmix, Organic India, Slurrp Farm, Two Brothers, True Elements, Gourmet Garden. 

What do they like/dislike?: Like: Trustworthy quality and ingredients, clear labelling of ingredients, Range of ingredients. Dislike: Plastic packaging. 

Frequency of purchase: twice a month (Rs 800 average cart value per order) 

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ICP 3 Vegan Sania

ICP 3: Vegan Sania 

Age: 23-35 

Gender: Female

Location: Tier 1 cities 

Salary: Upper middle class 

Apps: Instagram, Youtube, Happy Cow, Ecosia. 

Marital Status: Unmarried. 

Occupation: Professionals, entrepreneurs, creatives, and students. 


Lifestyle and Interests: 


Personality: Socially responsible, compassionate, left-wing, 

Interests: Sustainability, Social Issues, Philosophy, fitness and wellness. 

Lifestyle: Committed to a plant-based lifestyle, often involved in holistic living practices. 

Dietary habits: 


Dietary classification: Vegan. May look for other classifications like gluten-free, and non-GMO. 

Eating habits: Eats mostly at home, cooks for herself, looks for vegan or vegan friendly places to eat. 


Engagement with Urban Platter: 


What do they buy: Vegan alternatives, products used often in vegan cooking like tahini paste. 

What do they look for in products?: Vegan, Organic, non-GMO, sustainable and cruelty-free, clear labelling of ingredients.  

Competitor products: One good, eat vegan, Wakao, The Whole Truth, GoodMylk, Beyond Meat, Epigamia. 

What do they like/dislike: Like: Range of vegan products that are available. Dislike: They import a lot of raw materials which means higher pollution, un sustainable packaging. 

Frequency of purchase: Once a month (Rs. 500 cart value per order) 


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ICP 4 Cooking Enthusiast Mayank


Demographics:

  • Age: 23-45 years
  • Gender: Male or Female 
  • Location: Tier 1 cities 
  • Salary: Middle Class and Upper Middle Class. 
  • Apps: Instagram, YouTube, Pinterest, Tasty
  • Marital Status: Unmarried or Married. 
  • Occupation: Food content creators, Professionals, entrepreneurs, and students


ICPS Prioritised: 

Since the company is in early scaling, the ideal customer will be given importance based on how easily the TAM can be captured, value of the TAM today, their appetite to pay. 

Based on these factors, the ICP: Vegan Sania will be excluded. 


Lifestyle and Interests:

Personality: Creative, experimental, detail-oriented, passionate, and curious

Interests: Trying new recipes, cuisines, and cooking techniques, hosting dinner parties.

Lifestyle: Hard worker, Eats out often, loves meeting people. 

Dietary Habits:

  • Dietary Classification: Vegeterian and non-vegeterian. 
  • Eating Habits: Eats out often. Enjoys dining out at places known for their exceptional cuisine. 

Engagement with Urban Platter:

What Do They Buy:

  • Products: High-quality cooking essentials such as olive oil, spices, herbs, gourmet salts, specialty flours, and organic produce. Ingredients for international cuisines, exotic spices, and unique condiments.

What Do They Look for in Products:

High-quality, fresh, and premium ingredients. A wide range of products to explore different cuisines and dietary needs, usage tips. 

Competitor Products:

  • Brands: Whole Foods Market, Gourmet Garden, Del Monte, The Gourmet Jar, Food Hall. 

What Do They Like/Dislike:

  • Likes: Wide variety of gourmet and specialty products, organic and sustainable options, detailed product descriptions and usage tips, range of niche products. 

Frequency of Purchase:

Regularly shops for cooking supplies, typically making purchases once or twice a month with an average cart value of β‚Ή1000 per order

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ICP Prioritisation:

ICP

Adoption Curve

Frequency of Use

Appetite to Pay

Willingness to Pay

TAM (In the interest of time, actual numbers were not calculated but the TAM was rated in relation to each other out of 5 following research and assumptions.)

TAM value (TAM score * average spend in a month)

Growth of TAM

How Easily can the TAM be captured? (How easy is it to convert consumers that consume alternatives plus how easy is it to get consumers that dont consume alternatives but a need/want can be created)

Explorer Neha

Low

Once or twice a month. Average cart value of Rs 400.

Average Spend in a month: 600

Medium

High (On account of limited alternatives in the market)

3

Basis the size of the experience economy, growth of travel culture, size of gourmet food market, understanding of the interest in international cusines and cultures.

1,800

Medium

High

Health Freak Tanya

Low

Twice a month. Average cart value of Rs 800.

Average spend in a month: 1,600

High

Medium (Multiple alternatives for healthy products. However, Urban Platter has established strong credibility and among the few brands that have clean ingredients)

4

Based on the health industry. Assumed percentage of those interested in health through nutrition and interest in clean products by checking for the growth of alternatives like The Whole Truth.

6,400

High

High

Vegan Sania

Medium (Vegan alternative products on Urban Platter are not necessarily the essentials for cooking)

Once a month. Average cart value of Rs 500.

Average spend in a month: 500

High

Medium

1

Based on the Growth of Veganism in India and the size of the vegan market in India.

500

Medium

Medium

Cooking Enthusiast Mayank

Medium (These products are not a necessity for cooking)

Once a month. Average cart value of Rs 600.

Average spend in a month: 600

Medium

Medium

3

This ICP could overlap with other ICPs. For example, a health freak would most likely also want to cook for themselves and try new recipies.

The size was also assumed based on the user interviews. All users that were interviewd were interested in cooking.

1,800

Low

Medium

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ICPs finalised were:

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Explorer Neha and Health Freak Tanya.


Core Value Proposition of Urban Platter:

Providing exotic and speciality food products of the highest quality.


Stage of the Company: Early Scaling

Reasons: 

  1. Potential for still acquiring high % of their TAM. 
  2. Only Series A funding 
  3. High revenue growth (around 75% Y-o-Y) 

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Channel Decision:

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Prioritising Cost, Effort and Scale since the company is Early Scaling.

Channel

Cost (Does CAC go down with scale. 3 if it does, 1 if it does not)

Flexibility

Effort

Lead Time

Scale

Score

Organic

3

2

2

3

2

3

Content Loops

1

1

3

3

1

0.3333333333

Referral

3

2

2

2

2

3

Paid Ads

2

3

2

1

3

3

Product Integrations

1

2

3

2

1

0.3333333333

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The Channels that were chosen were: Ads and Referral.

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Ads: As looked at earlier, the brand communication of Urban Platter does not focus on other value propositions, other than cooking exotic meals. There is thus a huge scope for targeting other important ICPs and increasing the perceived value of the product among the ICPs that were already being targeted. Ads were chosen as a channel as they would enable targeting other value propositions of the brand.

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​Referrals: One of the strengths of Urban Platter is the high trust that it has. This could be leveraged by referrals to further acquire new users.

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Ads:

Lifetime Value of customers: 

ICP 1: Explorer Neha 


Order value in a month X Number of months of purchase 


= 600 * 5 

= 3,000 


ICP 2: Health freak Tanya


= 1,600 * 8 

= 12,800. 


Healthy CAC to LTV ratio : 1:3 


ICP1 CAC should be less than 1,000 

ICP2 CAC should be less than 4,266 


Since the LTV of Health Freak Tanya is higher, this is the ICP that will be chosen. 

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Purpose of the experiment: Tapping into other use cases of urban platter products. 

Use cases to experiment with: Marketing products such as beetroot powder and moringa powder and their specific health benefits. 

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Channel that the ICP spends time on: Instagram and Youtube.


Setting up the Ads:

Audience on Instagram: 

Location: Tier 1 cities 

Age: 26-45 

Gender: Female and Male 

Language: English 


Interests: Health, Supplements, Veganism, Organic food, Whole foods. 

Behaviours: Users that are more likely to spend online, health products like supplements, microgreens, immunity boosters were purchased. 


Custom audience: 

Customer list: Users that have purchased health products from Urban Platter before and lookalikes similar to them. 


Campaigns and Ad Groups:

Campaign Objective: Product Consideration. 


Ad group 1: Awareness about Supplements 

Marketing Pitch: Natural powders to replace artificial supplements.


Ad group 2: Information about products that cater to specific diets: Vegan, gluten free, Non-GMO, organic, Single grain, Keto.  

Marketing Pitch: Diverse range of products that are tailored to specific diets. 


Ad group 3: Showcasing health benefits of specific products. 

Marketing Pitch: Superfoods from across the world to enhance your health. 


Static Ad Creatives. Ideas for 1 variation. ​

Ad group 1 

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A Half and half image. On one side is there is a half of a supplement bottle, on the other is half of Urban Platter's beetroot powder. 

Copy: Nothing is as good as real food. 

Below that: Single ingredient only. More than 30,000 repeated customer. 

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In the caption of the ad there would be a discount code. 


Logic:

The half and half image is intended to make the scroller curious and stop. 

The copy β€˜Nothing is as good as real food.’ paints the problem and shows the solution at the same time. 

The copy β€˜Single ingredient only. More than 30,000 repeatcustomers customers.’ helps establish trust. 

The discount code helps create urgency. 


Ad group 2


Ad group 2 would be a carousel.

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Carousal 1: But where do you get your fibre from? 

Carousal 2: Ask this the next time someone is being annoying. 

Carousal 3: Pictures of Vegan Products. Reliable vegan products are hard to find. Check out the range at Urban Platter. 

Carousal 4: For annoying you, 15% off valid for the next two days. 


Logic: ​

β€˜Where do you get your protein’ gets the user to stop scrolling. 

β€˜Reliable vegan products are hard to find. Check out the range at Urban Platter.’ Points the problem and provides a solution. 

15% off creates an urgency. 

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Referral Program

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The existing referral program by the Urban Platter: 


It is under the Loyalty rewards page and it is unclear how to use it. 

image


There is also a widget on the home page that expands to show details of the referral programme and loyalty programme.

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​User Story: 


User finds an Urban Platter product β†’ User adds the product to cart β†’ User buys the product β†’ User likes the product β†’ User may leave a positive rating β†’ User now tries new products from Urban platter and regularly buys existing products.  


Validating Happy moments: 

  1. Positive rating
  2. Repeat purchases: More than 3 in the last 60 days. 

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User flow for the referral programme: 


  1. After the user completes 3 orders, and is on the order complete screen, they will get a pop-up asking them to rate their experience with Urban Platter 
  2. Once the user gives 4 or 5 stars to their experience, they will be asked to refer to other users on the order complete page. 
  3. Under the account section, the user will also have unlocked a refer option which will now be visible to the user. 


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  1. The user will also get an email and WhatsApp message to refer after their happy moments are validated. 
  2. This widget will show the refer link above everything else. 

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Platform Currency: 

Options: 

  1. Flat amount off. 
  2. Points towards the loyalty programme 

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We saw above that for a healthy CAC to LTV, 

ICP1 CAC should be less than 1,000 

ICP2 CAC should be less than 4,266 


The referrer gets Rs. 200 off and the referee gets points towards their loyalty programme which is equivalent to Rs 200 off. 


Prioritising how they will share it: 

Where do users hang out?: Assuming that most users buy through their phone. 

Active or passive decision?: Active.  

One is to how many?: One is to one. 


Users will see the WhatsApp and Instagram icons to share as these are assumed to be the main channels. 

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Message: 

The message will be more casual and friendly as they are expected to share it with friends and family. 


Hi! 


I have been a fan of Urban Platter for a while now. They have a great selection of high quality, exotic and healthy ingredients. I think you might like them too! 


Use the link below to get Rs. 300 off on your first order :) 


[Link]


How will they track their refferals?: 

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Users can track it by: 


Going to My Account β†’ Loyalty Rewards β†’ Section for referrals. 


Within the section, they can see who they shared the link with, and at what stage they are of their first order. 


How will they keep referring?: 


Once they get three referrals, they will get Rs 600 off. Once they refer 7, they will get Rs 5000 off. Once they refer 10, they will get Rs. 10,000 off and a Urban Platter gift box. 


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